28 Interesting Facts About Me

In honor of my 28th birthday coming up, here are 28 interesting, weird, embarrassing, sad and funny facts about yours truly. ✌🏼

1. No one can accurately guess my race (I always get Mexican) but to clarify: my mother is Japanese, French, my father is Filipino, Hawaiian and English.

2. My music playlists are full of instrumentals, OST’s, lo-fi hip hop, old school hip hop, jazzy hip hop, remixes, trap, beats, country, rock, reggae, r&b, k-pop, rap, etc.

3. When I was a kid, I pooped on the slide at McDonald’s and my mom made my older brother clean it with his socks.

4. I’ve never been to a concert in my life.

5. I was married once.

6. My dream has always been to write a book & speak at TED TALKS.

7. My personality type is the rarest in the world- INFJ. Research it at your own risk.

8. On January 22, 2005 I was hit by a car as a pedestrian crossing the street after playing basketball and I survived. (I wrote about it in my past posts)

9. My basketball jersey numbers are always 15 or 22.

10. My favorite movie of all time is “Love & Basketball”.

11. I went to a private, Christian high school my junior and part of my senior year because my parents thought public school was a bad influence on me.

12. Boredom is never an issue for me since I’m always being productive or entertaining myself.

13. My hands are very small & chubby. It makes burger eating very awkward.

14. In high school I was a trouble maker for talking all the time in class and breaking dress code but all the teachers loved me cause I was very respectful. Except Ms. Katanjian. I still hate you.

15. I don’t hate anyone actually. Just really, really, really, really dislike them.

16. I was banned from a bar for fighting.

17. In college I was almost done with my pre-reqs for nursing school but I got very sick from my illness so I put it on hold. I’m still debating about returning & completing my BSN.

18. I’m a cheap date: make me laugh, get some simple food, fly a kite, explore, ride bikes, play basketball, fish, surf, chill, talk about everything and people watching are some of my favorite things. If you’re planning to ask me out, here’s your cheat guide you lucky bastard. You’re welcome.

19. peach bellinis > beer.

20. I’m old as f*** when it comes to technology. I prefer old school notebooks, journals, books etc.

21. I LOVE bunnies. RIP Mango

22. I have this amazing intimate relationship with myself- I’m always in my own world, talking to myself, sharing secrets with myself, laughing at myself, taking myself out on dates and just simply being by myself.

23. After my divorce I changed my last name to my mother’s maiden name. Ishii means “rock” in Japanese.

24. My favorite backpacking memory: I met a fellow backpacker from India who I traveled with for a few days. We took a night bus from Siem Reap to Shinoukville then a boat to Koh Rong Island. We stayed in bamboo huts on the beach for only $20USD/night. We drank beer, watched the fire show and star gazed all night. We’re still friends and keep in touch till this day.

25. I’m a very straightforward, fearless, confrontational person. If I don’t like something I’ll be the first to speak up.

26. I once attempted to enlist in the U.S. Army. I trained for 6 months with my recruiter but when I was scheduled to go to MEPS I got injured. I took it as a sign and dropped my potential enlistment.

27. The back of my knees and bottom of my feet are the most ticklish.

28. I like sleeping with one arm under the pillow, one leg bent and the covers over half my face.

*bonus fact: I’ve always wanted to be a DJ

Cheers to another year & more adventures!

One thought on “28 Interesting Facts About Me

Leave a comment